Problems with Neverwinter Nights 2

Neverwinter Nights 2 was one of those games that was on my wishlist for a long time. I wanted to play it, but it wasn’t available in physical stores or at any digital download website back in 2011. Finally, it appeared on Steam and later GOG.com (formerly Good Old Games). I happened to pick it up during a Steam sale a while back but never got around to playing it. I was caught up with Torchlight 2, Diablo 3, and other games. Well, a few weeks ago I decided to try it out. I have had nothing but problems getting it to work properly.

The game seems fine when it’s working, but there’s just no stability in it. It will crash anywhere and everywhere for me. Sometimes, these crashes dump me back to the desktop with some error message about Visual C++ Runtime. More commonly, the game causes my video driver to crash and be restarted. One time the driver failed to restart and I got a blue screen. I saw many threads about overheating being a problem, but I watch my computer’s temperatures like a hawk. While playing Neverwinter Nights 2, my video card went up to the normal 60 ºC it’s always at when playing games with 3D graphics.

Now, I did find a community patch. I think this patch was made for multiplayer, but it said it also fixed some crash bugs. That is true. The game was a little better with the patch, but crashes are still a regular occurrence. I read that it has problems with certain Nvidia drivers. Well, I’m not going to switch back to old drivers just to get this one game working. I have lots of other games I play, some older and some recent. They all work with the newer video drivers. Some of the more recent games even require the new drivers; they display an error message and won’t start up if the video driver is older than a certain date.

So I give up. This game is too buggy with my current computer. Maybe if I had the space, I could setup my old Windows XP computer to play the game on, but that computer’s specs probably aren’t good enough to run Neverwinter Nights 2. Luckily, I only spent $13 on it. I’m always disappointed when I lose money, but I guess it could be worse.

Leave a Reply

