Diablo 3 Patch 1.0.4 and My Builds

This patch came out earlier than expected, but it’s a good one. Check out the official patch notes for all the details. However, what I want to concentrate on is whether I need to update any of my builds. I did a quick look and here’s the results:

The Fastest MonkExploding Palm and Wave of Light were both buffed, so this build does even better now. That’s always a good thing. The only place I need to change for this build is with the Fleet Footed passive skill. It no longer counts towards the +25% movement speed cap, so the maximum potential is now +35%. I think that number is only reachable with Legendary items, but I will be looking into it and updating the build as needed.

The Kiting Blizzard WizardArcane Torrent got a good damage boost, but another change that could affect this build is the Cold Blooded passive skill. It actually increases all damage to frozen and chilled enemies, not just cold damage. I want to add an “alternatives” section to the build, a little something about replacing Temporal Flux with Cold Blooded

The Survivalist Demon HunterEntangling Shot got a pretty hefty damage boost. Both Impale and Cluster Arrow got damage boosts, around 10-20% each. The build now does more damage, which is nice, but none of these will require me to make changes to the build.

The Sticky Barbarian – Both Bash and Seismic Slam got damage boosts, but even better, the “stickiness” of the build was buffed. Leap now ignores crowd controlling effects. For example, if a monster Prisons you, Leap will still work. You won’t be able to move at the end of the Leap until Prison wears off, but Leap itself will ignore that. Ancient Spear now roots the target for 1.5 seconds. Not only are the enemies pulled to you and slowed, they also can’t move. Overall, I just need to add a few lines to the build to account for these changes.

Monk Spirit Generation in Diablo 3 – This is not a build, but there were a few changes in this patch that affect Spirit gains and regeneration. That means Spirit gained per second is different. I want to make sure it has the proper numbers.

Also, I am on vacation Wednesday (tomorrow) through Sunday this week, so I won’t update the builds until next week. No new build this week either. The Witch Doctor build will be out next Wednesday, the 29th. It is mostly done, but I need to make some changes because of this patch.

In the future, I don’t know if I will be going through all my builds and noting changes. The more builds I have, the more time it take to maintain all my builds. In the build listing, I have included version numbers, so viewers will know whether I have updated a build or not. For instance, right now they are all v1.0.3. By the end of next week, they should all be 1.0.4.

Leave a Reply

