Diablo 3 Release Date Announced!

We have been waiting months for this, but now we finally know the day we will be playing Diablo 3: May 15, 2012. Blizzard is now excepting pre-purchases of the game today if you want to go the digital download route. People who got the WoW Annual Pass are also now able to download the client. The battle.net site was really slow, but I was able to purchase the game and get is started downloading.

Like the Starcraft 2 digital download, you get all the game files downloaded before the release date, but they are encrypted. Once the installer sees the live server is up and running, it then downloads a decryption key to decrypt the game files and install the game.

I have some bad news though. Unfortunately, I have a vacation planned from May 9 – May 20. Basically, I am going on a road trip and meeting a lot of relatives I haven’t seen in 15-20 years. I have been putting this vacation off for years, so I am not cancelling it now. I will just have to wait until after to play Diablo 3. I will probably get back home late Sunday and install the game (from my pre-downloaded files) but most likely won’t play until Monday evening.

My plans are still the same for Diablo 3. I will write down my thoughts as I play the game with the Monk. Each week I will do a little write-up, which I call a character update, combining my thoughts into one post to show where I am at in the game. It will mainly be about rare items I find, the new skills unlocked, and the monsters I am facing. The idea is to get a good sense of what my character is up against and what skills counter which monsters. Then, I can take that information into harder difficulties where it is really needed.

Leave a Reply

