Could Torchlight 2 be delayed?

Runic Games posted an update on the status of Torchlight 2 today. In it they said they are hard at work on Act 4 of the game. They have publicly said before that three of the four acts will have a big quest hub. To me that sounds like Act 4 would be smaller than the other three, much the same as Act 4 in Diablo 3 was much shorter than the first three acts. If we can assume this, then it means they are almost done with the content of the game.

I’m excited to hear that the game is nearing completion, but this also worries me in a way. For a game of this size, most game companies will devote about three months internally for testing and bugfixing. Unfortunately, Torchlight 2 doesn’t have three months to play with. Let’s just assume they finish the content on October 15th, 2011. Three months from that date is January 15th, 2011.

Could Torchlight 2 end up not releasing until January? It definitely seems possible when I look at it this way. Sure, Runic Games could just release it in December, bugs and all, with plans to patch it after release, but I think Runic Games is a better company than that. I mean, they used to work for Blizzard. They know a thing or two about polishing games.

I will be waiting patiently for any more Torchlight 2 news, but I hope the game is still on track for a 2011 release. It would be very disappointing if both my big Christmas season buys are pushed into the next year. This isn’t that bad in a way, though. I will have time to get the builds on the Build Queue finished before they release, and I won’t feel pressured to rush through writing builds just to play the new games on the block. There’s always a good side to everything.

Leave a Reply

