Theory and Practice

When I originally outlined my new plans for the blog, I said each build would have two states. I never got around to doing that but am getting to it now. When I make builds, I think of it like science. I first come up with a basic idea for the build: which class, which weapons, and a few skills or spells. Then, using ingame experience and online resources (wikis, forums), I write out a tentative build. All of this is essentially a theory. I have this idea and wrote out how I think everything should work, but I still don’t know with 100% certainty whether it will work in the game or not.

The only way to test a theory is the put it into practice. Practice involves using the build from the beginning of the game to the end of the game all the way through. If I notice any problems with the build, I can make changes to it as necessary. So for example, I might write off a skill or spell as weak, but after playing I see it actually works fine. I might even find it to work better than one of the skills or spells I chose in the build. I can then update the build to use that skill or spell over other ones or at least change the text to say the other skill or spell is a viable alternative.

So each build is really either a theoretical build or a build put into practice. What I did at first was always put builds into practice before I posted them. The problem with that was I took too long to get builds out. I usually have a lot of ideas for builds, just not enough time to use them all ingame. I’d rather get my builds out there for myself to keep them in mind easier and to give readers possible builds than only be able to post one build a month. With how many builds there are, there just isn’t enough time to play through all of them. Better that I put the initial rough draft out there and get to playing them when I can.

Next to each build will be an indication: *untested* or *tested*. I thought about just using theory and practice as the names here, but it sounded kind of funny. Practice build sounds like it’s incomplete, not finalized or polished up. So *tested* builds I have gone through the whole game with from start to finish and made sure the build reflects my actual ingame experience. On the other hand, *untested* builds are the ones I haven’t had the time or interest to play through the game with yet. Due to how many builds I make, a build may be *untested* indefinitely. It is only meant as a warning that some things in the build may be incorrect. From my experience with testing builds I have written beforehand, I usually don’t have to make too many corrections. I would say they are usually around 80-90% correct before I test them out.

Leave a Reply

