Diablo 3 pushed back to 2012

That’s right. Mike Morhaime, president and co-founder of Blizzard, has just announced Diablo 3 will not be released in 2011 as originally planned. It is now slated for an early 2012 release. Early to me would be some time in the first quarter of 2012, a January-March timeframe.

Another announcement also comes with this: the beta test is being extended longer than originally planned. They never stated how long they expected beta to last. There were rumors it was going to be much shorter than SC2, only about a month or two. With this extension, I think we can be pretty sure the beta is going to last at least into December. They also said the beta test will be bigger, which I translate to meaning they are going to let more people in over time than they planned.

So I’m disappointed but also excited. I hope this means they will make it pretty open to allow most people that opted in to test it out. Maybe I will be one of the lucky ones one day. Now that Blizzard released the item database, I’m not sure what I will cover on the blog. I might still go along that route but talk more about the random mods items can have. The official site might say an item can have 1-3 random modifiers but doesn’t actually say what the possibilities are for a random mod.

Leave a Reply

