The Build Queue

I have been really busy with real life stuff lately but have many builds I want to get done. Unfortunately, Torchlight 2 and Diablo 3 are coming fast. If I was just playing them, I would definitely have time for both. However, I want to finish making my planned builds for existing games first before I get into those games. This means I will not be covering either of them at launch. I will be buying them at launch, because I believe developers deserve full price when they make an excellent game. I just have too many builds I want to get out first.

To help myself track my plans for future builds, I am creating a Build Queue that will go on the sidebar. I will list every build I want to make in the order I am going to do them. Builds at the top of the queue have higher priority than the ones at the bottom. I will leave open the possibility for some reordering of the builds, but I will mostly follow it in order.

I basically want to get one build written per class for Mass Effect 1, Mass Effect 2, Torchlight 1, and Dragon Age: Origins before I start Torchlight 2 and Diablo 3. I will probably play Torchlight 2 and Diablo 3 a little bit earlier to get a feel for the skills, but I won’t be writing any builds for them until I have gotten far enough into the build queue.

For the most part these initial builds will be all about doing the best damage possible. For example in Torchlight 1, I want to write an Alchemist build. Their skill trees support a spellcaster build, summoner build, and a melee/weapon damage build. There are also hybrid builds possible using a variety of skills from more than one tree. Since the Arcane tree has the best damage skills, my first Alchemist build will be focused on Arcane.

I plan to release one build per week, every Monday. With the current build queue, it will take 11 weeks to get to Torchlight 2 and Diablo 3 builds. That is around Thanksgiving Week. Torchlight 2 is expected to release in September or October. It will already be out for several weeks by the time I get to writing builds for it. Then Diablo 3 will probably come out shortly after that. In, let’s say, mid-December, I will still be finishing one build per class with Torchlight 2.

The point is I’m not going to rush through making tons of builds just to keep up with the fervor of new games coming out. I do this website on the side for fun. I will not let it turn into a second job. I would have a lot of fun if I could for a living write builds or even analyze game design in general, but unfortunately, that’s not how life works. I need to have some free time to do things besides work and blog.

Leave a Reply

