New Header Image and Builds

You may have already seen the new header. It was mostly done on Saturday, but I wasn’t satisfied. There was a hole showing the background that I wasn’t sure what to do with. I put the text there, but it still seemed like it was missing something. I decided to just put a picture of Hawke from Dragon Age 2. I don’t have that game yet, but I will eventually and it will be covered on the blog. This image will be good enough for a while.

In the future, I would like to create my own digital art for the header, but I’m not an artist. It takes countless trial and error just to do simple shapes let alone something passable for a banner image.  Maybe in a year’s time though.

Over the past week I’ve been trying to get some new builds posted, but got tied down and distracted. I was on vacation for the 4th holidays as well as the day after. Then, I WordPress came out with the new theme with features that I want in my blog. It took until today before I felt they were good enough to post about. (They’ve been posted in incomplete forms for the past week.)

Baldur’s Gate 2

  • Bard – Defensive – This build is all about supporting your party and includes the Skald kit for the best Bardsong before epic levels.

Neverwinter Nights 1

  • Bard – High Perform – I decided to stick with the Bard for Neverwinter Nights 1. This build is basically a direct conversion of the above build into 3rd addition rules for Neverwinter Nights. In 3rd Edition, the higher the Perform skill, the better your Bardsong is. So this build has the maximum Perform given any character level, and still retains the spellcaster support that my Defensive build had.
  • Bard (5) / Harper Scout (15) – This is a modified version of the High Perform build that incorporates the Harper Scout. These two builds are based on the level 20 cap in the Official Campaign for the game, but over time I will create epic level builds. Personally, I like lower level builds more than epic level builds, because of the challenge at low levels.

Future Builds

I’m playing through Mass Effect 1 now. I’m about halfway through, but already have a pretty good idea of what the first Mass Effect 1 build is going to be. I went with the default Soldier Shepard for my first playthrough, so that’s the class I will base the build on.

Besides the class, you also get to choose Pre-service History and Psychological Profile, but these don’t really have any effect on your character stats. They only seem to change the starting Renegade and Paragon points, but those are just for for role-playing purposes.

I have put talent points all over the place in this first build to experiment with the various talents. For the final build, I will be refining to have a clear focus, and no points will be wasted.

Leave a Reply

