New direction

Why?

One thing I’ve learned over the years about my gaming is that I get into phases with games. I will become completely obsessed with a game one day, and then the next day have absolutely no interest in playing it at all.

I have never been able to figure out what causes this big swing from day to day. It doesn’t seem to be correlated with anything I eat, whether I’m depressed or not, or even if I’m really busy. Some times I stay interested a game for a long time. Other times, I grow bored fast.

However, I always come back to the games I stop playing. Every game I have abandoned, I have come back to eventually and continued where I left off. This means, while the Mina character updates are suspended, I know I will come back to Torchlight some day and level her to 100. I don’t know when that will be as I don’t play a game when I am bored of it, but I know I will come back some day.

Over the past few weeks I have been playing Torchlight the minimum to do the character update for the week. I have spent most of my time playing other RPGs. The RPG genre is really my favorite type of game. I have a mathematical mind, so I love tweaking character stats to get small improvements in power or other game-related things. I also like games that focus on story. RPGs just seem to have the best of everything. They combine the artistic with the technical for the perfect video game package.

New direction

Instead of just hack ‘n slash RPGs, I will now cover all the RPGs I own with character builds and analysis. Another thing I’ve learned about myself over the years, is that I usually spend more time creating builds then actually playing the game. I like to play around with all the character combinations available to make the stereotypical builds as well as oddball ones.

I want to create builds and then test them out. I don’t want to be interrupted by having to post character updates every week. That directly slows down the testing, which means over time, I can’t create as many builds. With this change, I should be able to create a lot more builds. Playing through games really doesn’t take that long after the first time. I can usually get through with a new build in a couple weeks. A new build every two weeks is much better than a new build every month or every two months. I really want this site to be about the builds, not character updates. All the builds will initially be classified as Experimental. Once I finish with the build, I will update the build page based on how it played out in the game and switch its classification to Tested. I may add more classes if a certain game has more things that would fit. For instance, Diablo 3 builds might have “PvE” or “PvP” builds as well as “Endgame Viable” and “Not Endgame Viable”.

Right now I am in to all my Bioware RPGs. The Bioware RPGs I have are Baldur’s Gate 1 & 2, Neverwinter Nights 1, Knights of the Old Republic 1, and Mass Effect 1. I plan to get Neverwinter Nights 2 sometime this year. I plan to get Dragon Age: Origins and Mass Effect 2 whenever the price gets low enough, which for me is about $10-15 each. I’ve heard that Steam may have a big summer sale, so I will be watching prices like a hawk. If I do this, I probably won’t be buying Torchlight 2 or Diablo 3 at release. I always follow my current interests when it comes to games.

You can expect the Builds page to be updated quite a bit over the next year as I play through my RPG games. The References page will also be updated, but less frequently to add links to stats for classes in whatever game I am making builds for at the time. If an external Reference page goes down, I will just make my own page with the stats from the game manuals. So the References page is just a quick shot at all the necessary information for me to create a build. I’m also going to have to update some of the about page stuff with the new direction. It would be awesome if my website became the premier source for creative builds but time will tell.

Leave a Reply

