Tharcyn the Destroyer Tank #11

Tharcyn gained three levels pretty quickly, but he did suffer a few deaths. Most of them were lucky kills though, so I’m still feeling pretty good about Tharcyn’s future. I think Tharcyn can make it higher than level 70.

Character Sheet

Skills

1 Slash
10 Armor Expertise
10 Martial Weapons Expertise
10 Entropic Aura
10 Soul Rend
10 Frost Shield
10 Block and Parry
7 Shadow Armor
10 Doomquake
10 Defensive Spell Mastery
10 Adventurer
10 Critical Strikes
10 Treasure Hunter
2 Pet Mastery

Lost Fortress, Floor 30 (Shadow Vault, Lv65)

Tharcyn leveled up to 66 pretty early in this floor after killing a Specter champion. I continued my attribute points plan with 3 Strength and 2 Defense. Treasure Hunter also increased to 8/10.

Shortly after, Tharcyn came across an Azure Gel champion. The Azure Gel monster is pretty rare. It is not restricted to appearing on certain map themes. It can appear in all of them but only with a very low chance. Tharcyn got his next fame level on its death. I put the skill point in Treasure Hunter. The Azure Gel also dropped a unique set item: Epic Justice Proclaimed. The problem was Tharcyn got this very same item in the last character update, so it ended up getting vendored.

This floor was mostly full of Dwarven Wights and Deathwalker Battlemasters. These monsters normally can’t do any damage to Tharcyn, but the battlemasters have this buff that greatly increases there damage. While fighting a big mass of them, Frost Aura wore off, they got a number of critical hits, and Tharcyn died. I could have reacted to this, but I wasn’t fast enough.

That wasn’t the last death on this floor though. When killing a Watcher Geist champion, Tharcyn got hit with three poison spells at the same time. The spell they cast is usually inaccurate with only one of the poison shots hitting Tharcyn but not this time. Frost Aura has also warn off. It was an instant kill.

Tharcyn gained his next character level from a killed Pale Shambler champion. I put 3 attribute points in Strength, 2 attribute points in Defense, and the skill point in Treasure Hunter. It was now maxed, so I needed to decide on another skill to work on. I decided to go with Pet Mastery to boost my pet’s damage. This is an indirect way of increasing Tharcyn’s damage, but I think it will be good. I have a permanent Fire Elemental fish I can give my pet. With Pet Mastery, he should be doing really good damage.

Estherian Ruins, Floor 31 (Shadow Vault, Lv67)

After killing a Tunnel Spider champion, Tharcyn gained fame level 52. I put the skill point in Pet Mastery but didn’t use my permanent transform fish on my pet. I decided to use up all my other fish before that. There was also a Phase Beast in the area, but the portal dungeon didn’t have anything of interest.

Later on Tharcyn killed another Tunnel Spider champion to get character level 68. I put 3 attribute points in Strength and 2 in Defense with Pet Mastery gaining its second point. This level wasn’t all perfect though.

Tharcyn was killed instantly by a Dark Zealot. This time was surprising because Frost Aura was up and his health was full. The damage numbers overlapped, so I couldn’t tell exactly how much damage each poison bolt did. I just saw a mass of red numbers and Tharcyn’s health orb instantly empty. This was just a lucky kill though. Nothing to worry about. This level had a lot of Dark Zealots in it as well, so one death is not bad.

The last few enemies in this level dropped another unique Tharcyn already had: Epic Totem’s Pole. I don’t think I was writing this blog when this item dropped for me, so I haven’t talked about it before. It’s a pretty good staff weapon for an Alchemist spellcaster but not a weapon Tharcyn needs.

Epic Vampire Axe With this level finished, I decided to try some gambling for a better weapon. Tharcyn got two lucky uniques, but neither of them were useful at Tharcyn’s level. Epic Sulaman's Crusader Both of them are really good destroyer weapons, but Tharcyn is just too high level for them to be useful anymore. It’s too bad, but maybe on a future Destroyer I will get to take advantage of them.

Overall I thought it wasn’t a bad session. Tharcyn had a few deaths, but he did get a few levels and started a new skill. I think I can get Tharcyn to level 80 without too many problems. Level 90 I will just have to see how far I can get. I don’t think I can make it that far with my current items but maybe so.

I just have a heads up for this weekend. Since it’s Easter I’m not sure if I will have time for updates on the weekend. I think I will probably have time on Saturday (tomorrow) but possible not. I know for sure I will not have time to post one on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

